Reflexion

 

My very natural movement towards the greatest symphonies and operas and other more… “ethnically diverse” forms is neither a change in tastes nor a radical change of course but the logical product of a long course of development.

 

A course of development that finally leads to the pressing desire for synthesis, a project toyed with for a long time following the “prismatic” paths of this decade, paths imposed upon me in fact by broadcasting systems and the pitfall of classification, as well as institutional frameworks. Indeed, conducting a contemporary music ensemble while leading an invited conductor’s career, organising festivals, instilling ideas and setting up and conducting a new-generation symphony orchestra are simply the different pieces of the same puzzle, the tools used to fulfil a single, obsessional desire: “being like music”, living in shared contact with works on a daily basis, in physical contact with the orchestra. Is that such a great ambition?

 

To do so, one must, if necessary and beyond cumbersomeness, (habits in particular, outdated tools and commonplace behaviour) imagine and create the tools of our dreams, more suitable for the period we live in and in line with others’ dreams, well beyond the most simplistic classifications.

 

I am currently thinking about and conceiving a great symphony orchestra that is flexible and versatile as far as repertoires are concerned, inventive in its forms of representation, horizontal in its broadcasting means and rigorous in its approach to music that functions in the spirit of chamber music. Let’s dare! Since “It is a vital duty for us (it is from Tapis (a painter with whom I am utterly in tune) that I am once again going to borrow these few words to conclude this portrait) to turn our backs on many aspects of today’s world, deny them and refuse to accept them under whatever prestigious or sacred halo they are presented to us. Our destiny is at stake: either propagate ignorance and misleading myths or search for knowledge and happiness. This alternative deserves us devoting our entire lives to it, it is worth the adventure and risk of being taken for an enlightened person (…)”.

 

Having pursued an artistic ideal by conducting for a decade now, one thing appears to me to be true today: the only thing that counts, beyond the conductor’s technique, role, duties or social incarnation is his “being like music”, which makes him a genuine sound craftsman, a producer, a medium for passing on the message, a carrier of dreams and ideals. This is a simple statement of fact but is often contradicted and overshadowed by pomp and ceremony, duties, tricks, convention and appearance, fantasies related to the image of the omnipotent conductor. The musician in his relationship with his instrument and the conductor with his orchestra has this two-way “tactile”, ineffable presence with the material, a material that is rough, worked and poetised. It is this very immediate, physical relationship with sound, this sensorial, sensitive and physical commitment to the organic, organised material of music that I am interested in pursuing and developing.

 

Beyond the work’s poetic and philosophical message… commuted to a decodable, transmissible musical language, music represents a rough art above all for me, first degree art that “integrates” us into and links us to the “vibrant structure of the universe”. This is one of the reasons why performing today’s music has been such a major part of my musical career path. Contrary to generally accepted ideas, so-called “contemporary” music is anything but rhetorical entertainment: an incredible, priceless meeting point for thoughts, a stratification of highly structured creations and conceptual simple or complex imaginations, in the image of our world. On account of this even more vivid “first degree dimension”, a more direct relationship with sound, there is no need for prior knowledge to perceive, feel and receive “the impact of the work”. Tapiès wrote: “It is not essential, when we look at a painting, listen to music or read a poem to analyse the work. It is already significant that the viewer accepts the work’s impact and the chords it strikes in their mind, however confused.

 

Art has an effect on all of our sensitivity, not just our intellect”.

Art, and music in particular, is definitely a source of knowledge, an aid to meditation, inexpressible, certainly, but highly incarnate too, a place of sharing with great spiritual value. It is this central idea of making an “absolute gift of yourself” (exchanging energy, poetic transfer, as faithful as possible a reproduction of the work’s spirit and immediate communication with the listener) that constitutes for me the very essence of being a conductor.

 

Daniel KAWKA.

Réflexion

 

Mon évolution bien naturelle vers le grand répertoire symphonique et lyrique, et d’autres formes plus… « métissées », n’est ni une mutation de goût, ni un changement radical de cap mais correspond à l’aboutissement logique d’un long cheminement.

 

Un cheminement qui conduit enfin au désir impérieux de synthèse, projet longuement caressé après les parcours « prismatiques » de cette décennie, parcours imposés de fait par les systèmes de diffusion, l’écueil des classifications, les cadres institutionnels aussi ; en effet diriger un ensemble de musique contemporaine, mener parallèlement une carrière de chef invité, organiser des manifestations festivalières, instiller des idées, créer et diriger un orchestre symphonique de nouvelle génération,ne représentent que les différentes pièces d’un même puzzle, les outils d’un seul et obsessionnel désir : « être à la musique », vivre au quotidien au contact partagé des œuvres, au contact charnel de l’orchestre. Est-ce là si grande ambition ?

 

Il faut pour cela, si nécessaire, imaginer et créer, par delà les pesanteurs, (les habitudes surtout, les outils périmés, les lieux communs), les outils de nos rêves, plus adaptés à notre temps, en phase avec les rêves d’autrui, bien au delà des classifications plus réductrices.

 

Je pense et conçois actuellement, souple, polyvalent dans les répertoires, inventif dans ces formes de représentation, transversal dans ses modes de diffusion, rigoureux dans son approche du musical, une grande formation symphonique qui fonctionne dans l’esprit de la musique de chambre. Osons ! car « C ‘est pour nous un devoir vital (c’est à Tapies encore une fois (peintre avec lequel j’entre si parfaitement en résonance), que j’emprunte ces quelques mots pour conclure ce portrait) que de tourner le dos à bien des aspects du monde actuel, de les nier, de nous refuser à les accepter, sous quelque auréole prestigieuse ou sacrée qu’on nous les présente. Notre destin est en jeu : faire suivre l’ignorance et les mythes trompeurs ou bien chercher la connaissance et le bonheur. Cette alternative vaut que nous lui consacrions toute notre vie, elle vaut l’aventure et le risque de passer pour un illuminé (…) »

 

En poursuivant depuis une décennie déjà un idéal artistique à travers l’activité de chef d’orchestre, une vérité m’apparaît aujourd’hui, seul compte, par delà  la technique, le rôle, la fonction ou l’incarnation sociale du chef d’orchestre, son « être à la musique » qui fait de lui un authentique artisan des sons, un faiseur, un passeur, un porteur de rêve et d’idéal : Constat simple mais souvent contredit et occulté par l’apparat, la fonction, l’artifice, les conventions et l’apparence, fantasmes liés à l’image du chef omnipotent. Le musicien, dans sa relation à l’instrument, le « conductor » à l’orchestre, a cette double présence « tactile » et ineffable au matériau, un matériau brut, ployé, poétisé. C’est bien cette relation immédiate et charnelle au son, cet engagement sensoriel, sensible et physique dans la matière organique et organisée de la musique, qu’il m’intéresse de poursuivre et de développer.

 

Par delà le message, poétique, philosophique…, de l’œuvre, commué en un langage musical décodable et transmissible, la musique représente avant tout pour moi un art brut, art du premier degré qui « intègre » et nous lie à « la structure vibrante de l’univers ». Voilà donc une des raisons pour lesquelles l’interprétation des musiques de notre temps a occupé une telle place dans mon cheminement musical. Contrairement aux idées reçues, la musique dite « contemporaine » est tout sauf un divertissement rhétorique : incroyable et inestimable croisement de pensées, stratification d’inventions puissamment structurées, d’imaginaires conceptuels simples ou complexes, à l’image de notre monde. Du fait de cette « dimension au premier degré » plus prégnante encore, d’une relation au son plus immédiate, nul besoin de connaissance préalable pour percevoir, sentir, recevoir en retour « le choc de l’œuvre » : « Il n’est pas indispensable écrivait Tapiès, lorsqu’on contemple un tableau, qu’on écoute de la musique ou qu’on lit un poème, de faire une analyse de ces œuvres. C’est déjà beaucoup que le spectateur accepte le choc de l’œuvre et les résonances, mêmes confuses qu’elle éveille dans son esprit. L’art agit sur toute l’étendue de notre sensibilité, et non sur notre seul intellect ».

 

L’art, la musique en particulier est bien source de connaissance, support de méditation, indicible certes mais fortement incarnée aussi, lieu de partage, d’une haute valeur spirituelle. C’est cette idée centrale de « don absolu de soi » (échange d’énergie, transfert poétique, restitution la plus fidèle possible de l’esprit des œuvres, communication immédiate avec l’auditeur), qui constitue pour moi l’essence même du métier de chef d’orchestre.

 

Daniel KAWKA.